Classical Opera

Content by Rebecca Johns at Premier

Ian Page conducts UK premiere of Hasse’s Piramo e Tisbe with his ensemble The Mozartists and soloists Chiara Skerath, Kiandra Howarth and Gwilym Bowen

Ian Page and The Mozartists present the UK premiere of Hasse’s two-act opera Piramo e Tisbe at Cadogan Hall on 28 March. They will be joined by two of their recently announced Associate Artists, Chiara Skerath and Gwilym Bowen (who will be making his company debut), and Australian soprano Kiandra Howarth. Ian Page will give a pre-concert talk to introduce the opera and explore its background.

Piramo e Tisbe was first performed in Vienna in the autumn of 1768, just over 250 years ago, yet has never received a performance in the UK until now. In a letter to a friend, Hasse commented that the opera was “among the best works I have written…while composing it I always felt inspiration”. The story of Piramo e Tisbe is drawn from Book Four of Ovid’s Metamorphoses, and tells the tragic story of two young lovers’ failed attempt to elope 

Ian Page writes: “We performed an aria from Piramo e Tisbe at our 1768 retrospective concert at Wigmore Hall last January, and we were all overwhelmed by the beauty of the music. It prompted me to explore the rest of the opera in more detail, and the more I familiarised myself with it the more straightforward the decision became to perform the complete work.  Because of the lateness of the planning it did not prove possible to schedule the performance on the exact 250th anniversary of the premiere, but I’m delighted to be presenting the long-overdue UK premiere of the work, especially with such an outstanding trio of young singers.”

Piramo e Tisbe was the sixty-first of Hasse’s sixty-two operas, and unlike its predecessors it is surprisingly forward-thinking, incorporating and developing many of Gluck’s operatic reforms in music of sumptuous lyricism and pathos.

Later this year Ian Page and The Mozartists perform a Gluck double-bill of Bauci e Filemone and the celebrated Orfeo ed Euridice – which will be the UK premiere of the composer’s 1769 revision – on 29 and 31 May at the Queen Elizabeth Hall. The cast includes Ana Maria LabinSusanna HurrellRebecca BottoneRachel Kelly and Gwilym Bowen.

Orfeo ed Euridice had its premiere in Vienna in 1762, and this revision from 1769 adapts the role of Orfeo for a soprano.

On 8 July Ian Page and The Mozartists return to Wigmore Hall for a concert exploring Mozart’s travels across Europe with Associate ArtistLouise Alder. They will also be joined by flautist Katy Bircher, harpist Oliver Wass and Gavin Edwards on the horn.

Upcoming performances

Gluck Bauci e Filemone/Orfeo ¦ 29 & 31 May 2019, 7:30pm Queen Elizabeth Hall, London 
Ana Maria Labin Orfeo
Susanna Hurrell Euridice
Rebecca Bottone Amore/Bauci 
Rachel Kelly Filemone 
Gwilym Bowen Giove
Ian Page conductor 
The Mozartists
Nick Winston director

Mozart’s Travels ¦ 8 July 2019, 7:30pm Wigmore Hall, London 
Louise Alder soprano
Katy Bircher flute
Oliver Wass harp
Gavin Edwards horn
Ian Page conductor 
The Mozartists

Hasse: Piramo e Tisbe

28 March 7.30pm - Cadogan Hall

Follow Concert News Online on...

Concert News Online provides information about performing arts throughout the UK including music, opera, dance, theatre and visual arts events with direct links to relevant booking sites and venues*. The Concert News Online home page is updated weekly with featured articles and sponsored press items supplied by the performers or their agents. *All information, images and  content supplied by promoters or their agencies are correct at the time of publication and displayed as provided.  Concert News Online accepts no responsibility for changes to offers, the distribution of tickets or their availability.  Please note that unless specific images were provided by agents or venues these have been substituted with ‘generic’ photography courtesy of, all rights reserved. A full list of contributors available on request. The Concert News Online website and all its content is sponsored by Smart Arts Solutions. © Web design of the editor.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.