Content of the press page is supplied by Concert News Online’s sponsor Smart Arts Solutions.

The Choir of St George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle

Monday 3 December, 7.30pm

From the dramatic and impassioned opening processional, Laudes Regiae, to the emotionally charged Bogoróditse Djévo, this beautifully put together programme celebrates Advent and the coming of the Messiah.

The Choir of St George’s Chapel, directed by James Vivian, was founded in 1348 and, with the exception of the Commonwealth period (1649–60), has sung the services continuously since then. They sing regularly in the presence of the Queen and other members of the Royal family, and most notably, sang for the recent Royal weddings of TRH The Duke and Duchess of Sussex in May 2018, and HRH Princess Eugenie and Jack Brooksbank in October 2018.

James Vivian director
Luke Bond organ

Czech National Symphony Orchestra with Jennifer Pike, violin

Tuesday 4 December, 7.30pm

Heiko Mathias Förster leads an attractive programme of classical favourites to delight music lovers and newcomers of all ages. A highlight of the evening will undoubtedly be the internationally renowned soloist Jennifer Pike joining the orchestra for Vaughan Williams’ sublime The Lark Ascending.

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - A Winter Wonderland

Friday 7 December, 7.30pm

Journey through a musical winter wonderland packed full of well-known orchestral works and themes from seasonal operas and ballets, all conducted by the Welsh maestro Owain Arwel Hughes.

This festive programme includes music from Humperdinck’s fairytale opera, Hänsel und Gretel, to the cantering hooves and sleigh bells in Delius’ Sleigh Ride, the kaleidoscopic orchestral colours in Prokofiev’s Lieutenant Kijé Suite and the instantly recognisable themes from Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker Suite.

Humperdinck Excerpts from Hänsel und Gretel
Prokofiev Lieutenant Kijé Suite
Tchaikovsky Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin
Delius Sleigh Ride
Tchaikovsky The Nutcracker Suite

Owain Arwel Hughes conductor

Follow Concert News Online on...

Concert News Online provides information about performing arts throughout the UK including music, opera, dance, theatre and visual arts events with direct links to relevant booking sites and venues*. The Concert News Online home page is updated weekly with featured articles and sponsored press items supplied by the performers or their agents. *All information, images and  content supplied by promoters or their agencies are correct at the time of publication and displayed as provided.  Concert News Online accepts no responsibility for changes to offers, the distribution of tickets or their availability.  Please note that unless specific images were provided by agents or venues these have been substituted with ‘generic’ photography courtesy of, all rights reserved. A full list of contributors available on request. The Concert News Online website and all its content is sponsored by Smart Arts Solutions. © Web design of the editor.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.