Wigmore Hall...

Content supplied by Albion Media.

Nelson Goerner piano

Schubert, Brahms and Debussy

12 March 7.30pm

Technical hurdles and extreme virtuosity characterise Brahms’s Variations on a Theme by PaganiniNelson Goerner owns the technique and musical personality necessary to bring these rarely performed masterworks to life. His recital ends with the second book of Debussy’s impressionistic Préludes.

Schubert Piano Sonata in A major D664
Brahms Variations on a Theme by Paganini Op. 35
Debussy Images, Series 1 Etudes Book II

John Chest baritone; Marcelo Amaral piano

A Winter Journey 13 March 7.30pm​

John Chest, winner of the prestigious 2010 Stella Maris International Vocal Competition, joins forces with Marcelo Amaral to delve into a wealth of emotions and states of mind throughout a captivating programme.

American baritone John Chest is winner of the prestigious 2010 Stella Maris International Vocal Competition and was a finalist in the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition in 2017. He has recently been awarded a Richard Tucker Music Foundation Career Grant.  Until September 2016 he was a member of the ensemble at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where his roles included the title role of Billy Budd in a new production by David Alden, Valentin Faust, Ford Falstaff, Silvio Pagliacci, Figaro Il barbiere di Siviglia, Papageno Die Zauberflöte, Guglielmo Cosi fan tutte, and Il Conte Almaviva Le nozze di Figaro

Heath Quartet; Nils Mönkemeyer viola

Haydn, Jörg Widmann and Bruckner 14 March 7.30pm

Charismatic and dynamic, the Heath Quartet communicates with an impassioned energy that holds audiences spellbound. The award-winning British ensemble contrasts Joseph Haydn with Jörg Widmann, setting Op. 74 No. 1 alongside the radical sounds of Widmann’s Fourth Quartet and Bruckner’s transcendent String Quintet.

Patron Friends Dinner
This concert will be followed by the annual Patron Friends dinner. To book for the dinner please contact the Friends Office on 020 7258 8230 (additional costs apply).

Kuss Quartet - Haydn

16 March 7.30pm

String Quartet in E flat major Op. 33 No. 2 'The Joke'
String Quartet in B flat major Op. 50 No. 1
String Quartet in F sharp minor Op. 50 No. 4
String Quartet in D major Op. 50 No. 6 'The Frog'

Haydn’s genius for melodic invention, his master architect’s feeling for musical form, humour and wit run through the four works in the Kuss Quartet’s programme. The wonderful Berlin-based group offers an ideal entry point for anyone wanting to discover the composer at his best.

Follow Concert News Online on...

Concert News Online provides information about performing arts throughout the UK including music, opera, dance, theatre and visual arts events with direct links to relevant booking sites and venues*. The Concert News Online home page is updated weekly with featured articles and sponsored press items supplied by the performers or their agents.
*All information, images and  content supplied by promoters or their agencies are correct at the time of publication and displayed as provided.  Concert News Online accepts no responsibility for changes to offers, the distribution of tickets or their availability.  Please note that unless specific images were provided by agents or venues these have been substituted with ‘generic’ photography courtesy of sutterstock.com, all rights reserved.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.